Walking capital of the World
Wilderness capital of New Zealand

  • Home
  • Community
  • Clubs & Services
  • Waste and Recycling

Waste & Recycling

Te Anau and Manapouri have a kerbside collection service, recycling using yellow lidded bins and rubbish using red lidded bins are collected on alternate Monday. Get more information about your collection.
For those properties without a kerbside collection service, you can still recycle through your nearest recycle facility.

Te Anau

Te Anau transfer station
Te Anau Manapouri Highway, Te Anau. Transfer Station is open 7 days a week.

From Te Anau township, head southeast on Luxmore Drive toward Mokoroa Street. Turn right at Manapouri Te Anau Highway. Turn left to stay on Manapouri Te Anau Highway, travelling for 2 kilometres. The Te Anau Transfer is on the left (after Golf Course Road).

Te Anau transfer station
The Te Anau Transfer Station is open:
Daylight Savings - Monday to Sunday, 2pm to 6pm
Winter Hours - Monday to Sunday, 2pm to 4pm
The Station is closed on the following public holidays - Good Friday, Easter Sunday, New Year's Day and ANZAC morning.

Using the Facility
Customers will be met by the Attendant, who will accept payment (where applicable) and direct customers where to dispose of their materials.
Materials Accepted
Household rubbish
Reusable Items - there is a "second-chance" shed on site where second hand goods can be left for others to use
Garden waste
Scrap metal
Hazardous waste (limited storage capacity)

Materials Not Accepted
Loads over 3 tonnes gross weight will not be accepted without prior written approval from Southland District Council.
Liquid waste


Manapouri recycling centre
205 Hillside Manapouri Road. Open 24/7.

From Manapouri township, head southwest on Cathedral Drive toward Lake street. Turn sharp left at Hillside Manapouri Road and travel for 2 kilometres. The recycle centre is on the left.

Material Accepted
Paper (newspaper, magazines, junk mail, books, mail, envelopes, and cards)
Cardboard (boxes, packaging, cereal boxes)
Aluminium cans
Tin and Steel cans
Plastic - types 1 and 2 (milk bottles, soft drink bottles, bathroom and laundry containers)
Glass bottles and jars

Material Not Accepted
Plastic - types 3 to 7
Window glass
Dirty paper or cardboard

For more information go to Wastenet Southland


This community website is possible thanks to our generous headline sponsors



Connect with us online

facebook 32 Te Anau is on Facebook

Google+ Te Anau is on Google+




Get in touch...


This website is a community initiative
by Fiordland Community Promotion Ltd

Copyright and T&Cs

Web design by Interactive Solutions
Photography by Martin Sliva


About Us & Sponsorship Opportunities

Where are we...


Check out our location at the heart of Fiordland